permanent exhibition

Apprendice signal box

What sounds like an archaic ritual is actually just one of the building stones that make it possible to operate railways safely. The wheel-rail system allows for low rolling resistance, but at the same time requires very long braking distances. At 160 km/h, a train stops only after 1000 metres – driving on sight is not possible. Before a train sets off, it must therefore be ensured that the correct track is set, that there are no other vehicles on this track and that no other vehicles can enter the track.

As early as 1858, it was no longer necessary to rely solely on humans to do this, but began to shift more and more of the responsibility for ensuring that these conditions were met to technical systems. This development continues to this day, whereby the basic operating principles have remained unchanged regardless of the technology used, from the mechanical interlocking to the electronic interlocking.

In our museum, these operational and technical processes are demonstrated by means of two indoor mechanical signal boxes, the outdoor installations of which are represented by a model railway for reasons of space. Here you can observe or try out for yourself what all has to happen for a journey from Aschaffenburg-Nilkheim (using the standardised signal box from 1953) or to Neckarbischofsheim (using the Bruchsal “H” four-crank mechanism from 1902) until it is said:

“Train announcement! Train 0815 in Neckarbischofsheim.”

Accessibility of the exhibition:

currently closed

Picture gallery

Gender notice

For better reading, the masculine form is used for personal names and personal nouns on this website. Corresponding terms apply in principle to all genders for the purpose of equal treatment. The abbreviated form of language is for editorial reasons only and does not imply any valuation.

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Dauerausstellung

Lehrstellwerk

Was wie ein archaisches Ritual klingt, ist tatsächlich nur einer der Bausteine, die es ermöglichen,  Eisenbahnen sicher zu betreiben. Das Rad-Schiene-System erlaubt einen geringen Rollwiderstand, erfordert aber gleichzeitig sehr große Bremswege. Bei 160 km/h hält ein Zug erst nach 1000 Metern an – da ist ein Fahren auf Sicht nicht möglich. Bevor ein Zug losfährt, muss also schon sichergestellt sein, dass der richtige Fahrweg eingestellt ist, dass sich auf diesem Weg keine anderen Fahrzeuge befinden und dass auch keine anderen Fahrzeuge in den Fahrweg gelangen können.

Bereits ab 1858 musste man sich dabei nicht mehr alleine auf den Menschen verlassen, sondern begann immer weiter die Verantwortung für die Einhaltung dieser Voraussetzungen auf technische Systeme zu verlagern. Diese Entwicklung setzt sich bis heute fort, wobei die grundlegenden Wirkprinzipien unabhängig von der jeweiligen Technologie vom mechanischen Stellwerk bis zum elektronischen Stellwerk unverändert geblieben sind.

In unserem Museum werden diese betrieblichen und technischen Vorgänge anhand zweier mechanischer Stellwerksinnenanlagen demonstriert, deren Außenanlagen aus Platzgründen durch eine Modelleisenbahn vertreten werden. Hier können Sie beobachten oder selbst ausprobieren, was für eine Fahrt von Aschaffenburg-Nilkheim (Einheitsstellwerk von 1953) nach Neckarbischofsheim (Bruchsal „H“ Vierkurbelapparat von 1902) alles passieren muss, bis es heißt:

„Zugmeldung! Zug 0815 in Neckarbischofsheim.“

Zugänglichkeit der Ausstellung:

Derzeit geschlossen

Bildergalerie

Newsletter Anmeldung

Newsletter Anmeldung bestätigen

Sie erhalten in Kürze eine E-Mail an die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse. Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihre Newsletteranmeldung über den darin enthaltenen Link.

Die Website ist als Entwicklungs-Website auf wpml.org registriert.